Whole, Complete, and Lacking in Nothing

9 Jul

I found this article written by Dr. Christiane Northrup today on my Facebook scroll. She is always an inspiration to read, but this post in particular struck a very sensitive chord with me. It began with her describing a workshop with Jill Rogers that started like this:

Jill started the workshop with a ritual in which she looked deep into each of our eyes and said, “You are whole, complete, and lacking in nothing.” Tears welled up in my eyes as I felt the truth of this statement from both a soul perspective and as a deep sadness because I still hadn’t found the love (spelled MAN) I was looking for in my life.

I pride myself in being incredibly independent, but there are times when I break down in sadness because I feel I am lacking something in my life. These times may feel like despair at the moment, but actually I think they are a choice made by my body to acknowledge my emotions, which is a very good thing. So often I lose myself in my activities and other people, and while they are truly a blessing for my body and soul, I recognize that there is a part of me that uses them to avoid facing the emotions inside of me that are not so happy-go-lucky.

In the moment that my feelings overwhelm me, I have to remind myself that this is healthy. This is a part of my journey. Life is built on all experiences, not just the good ones. It is a comfort to me that others are on a similar journey, and their words help me work through the sadness by facing it and not running away, as well as by giving me inspiration for new paths. 

I will never stop learning. I will never stop building on this life. I will never be completely satisfied with the whole. This is what makes me human, it’s what pushes me to be great, what pushes me to keep looking for more. I love sharing my journey with my tribe, because connection with you is one of the most important parts of my foundation.

I urge you to read the post in its entirety, whether you are happily in love with a significant other or looking giddily forward to what the universe has in store for you next.

2 Responses to “Whole, Complete, and Lacking in Nothing”

  1. onebreath July 9, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

    I spent many years acting as if I was fiercely independent while feeling so needy inside and not willing to acknowledge the vulnerability. Then I spent more years trying to mold myself into someone else’s vision of who I should be. Now I’m back to single again and learning to accept what you describe above… Life is full only to the extent that it is full of ups and downs and everything in between. So some days I will embrace my individuality and others I will despise it.. Either way, it’s all me and it’s all growth if I choose to look it in the face.

    • beckydancer July 11, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

      Wow, thank you so much for your comment! I really appreciate you sharing your experience, and I’m glad my post spoke to you.

Leave a Reply

