11 Sep

I thought this was a really interesting commentary on the topic of talent and artistic expression through dance. Enjoy this article as I round out my next blog post.

The Bellydance Blog

I was browsing through Shimmies, Sequins & Slippers the other day, hoping a new blog post would magically appear as I was scrolling. *ahem Roxanne, ahem!* Although I wasn’t surprised with a new blog post, I was intrigued by reading some old ones that are very good that I had forgotten about.

One of the posts that caught my eye was the unintentionally mean post. (I would recommend reading it here, before reading my post). In short, it was about a dancer that performed at a festival and was absolutely terrible. Roxanne just chats about whether all dancers should be allowed to perform in public – and she didn’t mean it in a mean way! (Go read it!)

I’ve been thinking about it for a while, and even asked my Facebook friends what they think of the latest phrase to be thrown around: “Anybody can bellydance!”

I’m…

View original post 1,191 more words

2 Responses to “”

  1. Alexandra September 11, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Thanks so much for the reblog! (I didn’t even know WordPress could do that! :P)

    I would love to hear more of what your thoughts are on this topic, I really enjoy hearing other opinions & ideas! X

    • beckydancer September 19, 2012 at 11:03 am #

      You’re very welcome! 🙂

      I will write up a little something for you when I get the chance. I definitely have an opinion on the topic!

Leave a Reply

