Destiny’s Children–First Anniversary Blog!

25 May

I can’t believe it! THIS CURIOUS UNIVERSE turns one year old today! I want to thank every person who has ever purposely or accidently stumbled onto my blog and took the time to read it. Truly my writing is for me, but it does wonders for my confidence and drive when I know other people are seeing it and maybe even getting something out of it the way I have.

This blog has birthed an astonishing amount of discovery within my life. More often than not, I’ll start writing about one thing and end up engaging in a dialogue about something completely different that grew out of the original seed. This birthing analogy is particularly strong within me today for a number of reasons. The most obvious has already been said:  the birth of self-discovery. Another, more literal, reason is the amount of new babies coming into my life this year. There have been times when it felt like someone passed around the pregnancy Koolaid and I was the only one who didn’t drink it…but it’s a beautiful thing, and I am so happy for all of them. It also makes me ponder how far I’ve come in this life, and what remarkable things I am yet destined to do. (Babies included!)

Recently, I was at a seminar called How To Work With Difficult, Demanding & Inconsiderate People, and a woman stood up and told the group about this practice that takes positivity, gratitude, and manifestation and binds them together (pun intended) in a helpful way that makes us focus on them every day. I like that, because I tend to get lost in the busyness of my days, the to-do lists, the who-what-when-where, and as I’m crawling into bed, realize that I forgot to work on my manifest destiny,* but that now I’m too tired to do anything about it. I’m sure that I’m not alone here. The basic idea was to choose a special journal and every day, on each two-page spread, write two lists:

I am grateful for…

I aspire to have/be…

   
   
   
   
   

 

The result is that all the positive ions you are producing from feeling grateful automatically get sprinkled into the dreams you aspire to, making your goals feel close-at-hand and effortless! It takes only minutes, but can have a big impact on your attitude towards life.

*If you are unfamiliar with the original Manifest Destiny, it was (on a very elementary level) the idea that we (in that particular case, WASP Americans) are meant to expand across the continent. My own personal manifest destiny is not unlike its original, except I do not want to obtain an entire continent…something closer to a province-du-Becky. I want to grow into my most amazing self by being my own best friend, and a positive inspiration to every unique person in my life.

The physical expression of this theoretically goes like this: I write down my goals and now I’m supposed to look at them every single night, thinking about the next step in achieving these goals. But I don’t do it every single night, because who wants to look at the same piece of paper and think deep thoughts when there is no real action taking place? Being who I am, however, writing something new every night reminds me that every word I write gets me closer to my goal of publishing my novel, marrying my dream man, having the life I’ve always wanted, etc. Even if you don’t aspire to be the next Hunter S. Thompson, seeing the words in front of you may just be a great way to light that fire.

Think about it this weekend, and if you are lucky enough to have time off, take the opportunity to start your journal and get one step closer to your dreams.

One Response to “Destiny’s Children–First Anniversary Blog!”

  1. jlmcmahon May 25, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    Happy Anniversary! XOXO

Leave a Reply

