Hump Day Lesson!

25 Apr

This morning I wrote a cute little Facebook anecdote on my AM trip to Whole Foods. It went something like this:

Hump Day Lesson: Pouting works! I was at Whole Foods bemoaning the fact that my fave flavor of chocolate was not on sale when all the other flavors were…a hot stocker guy comes up and asks me how my morning is going.

I say “It was going great until I realized my favorite chocolate isn’t on sale!” I added sad eyes and a frown.

He says, “I can make that be on sale for you…”

I say, “Oooh do you have magic powers?” I blink my eyelashes at him adoringly.

He says, “Even better. I’m the manager. I can make this any price I want.” And he takes me up to the checker and tells him to give me the sale price! HA!!!!

This scenario gave me such a little kick this morning. I am a firm believer that flirting is good for the soul. It’s great if it turns into something meaningful, but just a little morning flirtation gave me the giggles for over an hour, and we all know that laughter is the BEST medicine!  

Then I started ruminating on the larger issue here: asking the Universe for what I want. True, I didn’t need that chocolate. But I wanted it, and I wanted it for the sale price, dammit! Ask and you shall receive? I feel more strongly every day that that is the absolute word(s) of truth.

If you are a believer in The Secret or the philosophy that “like attracts like,” then you know what I’m talking about. If not, in the most basic of terms—what you think, say, and feel goes into the Universe and that is what you receive. If you put negativity out there, that’s what you will get. If you ask the Universe for money, peace, completing that half marathon, the Belly Dancer USA title, whatever, it has its way of making it into your life. It might not arrive exactly the way you expected, but I have found that it really does happen.

I’ve touched on this subject before: manifestation. When this morning’s windfall occurred, I realized I hadn’t intentionally been manifesting my desires for quite some time. Sure, I think wistfully about these things in passing, but it has been weeks—months, even—since I sat down and made a list of what I want to receive, and sent it with a grateful nod into the unknown. WE SHOULD BE DOING THIS EVERY WEEK! It doesn’t take much time out of your day, and it is so important. Think about it this way: the planet is getting more and more populated every day. The Universe has never been so inundated with requests. If you don’t put your nose to the grindstone, you might not get what you desire. Believe me, it’s worth it and you deserve it!

 So, go and ask the Universe for your requests. Remember to say thank you, and always honor yourself.

Leave a Reply

